The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary, Hardcover

carti

5 Review(s)
Laura Shovan's engaging, big-hearted debut is a time capsule of one class's poems during a transformative school year. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding ...
Cod: 65d9a057-5a36-4f92-a51f-e8a55004ae80 / 199320
Disponibilitate: In stoc
Producator: Wendy Lamb Books

65.99 RON

chrono12.de

Laura Shovan's engaging, big-hearted debut is a time capsule of one class's poems during a transformative school year. Families change and new friendships form as these terrific kids grow up and move on in this whimsical novel-in-verse about finding your voice and making sure others hear it. A great pick for fans of Margarita Engle and Eileen Spinelli. Eighteen kids, one year of poems, one school set to close. Two yellow bulldozerscrouched outside, ready to eat the buildingin one greedy gulp. But look out, bulldozers. Ms. Hill's fifth-grade classhas plans for you. They're going to speak up and work togetherto save their school. Honors and Praise: Winner, Cybils Award in Poetry An NCTE Notable Verse Novels A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year ILA-CBC Choices Reading Lists, Children's Choices Nominated for: Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards Wisconsin State Reading Association Children's Book Awards Rhode Island Children's Book Award Great Stone Face Award (New Hamphire) "This gently evocative study of change in all its glory and terror would make a terrific read-aloud or introduction to a poetry unit. A most impressive debut." --School Library Journal "The poems are easy to read, in authentic-sounding language that captures the poets' personalities; avatar-like illustrations accompany each piece to remind readers of who's who. A helpful guide to poetic forms appears at the end of the book." --The Horn Book "Entertaining...Shovan skillfully employs different poetic forms and styles...Characters... will inspire readers as they find the courage to save their school and make their voices heard, both as a united front and as capable, valuable individuals. " --Publishers Weekly "Sure to inspire the poet in all of us, young and old."--Mark Goldblatt, author of Twerp "Eighteen kids. Eighteen Stories. An original idea, artfully and heartfully rendered. What a treat." --Eileen Spinelli, author of Another Day as Emily and other books "A delightful book, with an endearin
Opinia ta despre produs


chicco.ro